Call us on (08) 855 66196

Adelaide Festival 60 Years 1960-2020
Adelaide Festival 60 Years 1960-2020

Adelaide Festival 60 Years 1960-2020

Regular price $70.00 Sale

The Adelaide Festival is as much shaped by people and place as it in turn shapes people and place; its identity is a weird and wild shifting thing. It is not owned by one individual, but belongs to everyone.

Adelaide Festival 60 Years is an astounding cacophony of images and tales that revel in the life of the Festival since its founding in 1960 - remembering what it was, anticipating what it might be.

The tales are told by the many - choreographers, actors, singers, artistic directors, audience members, writers, lighting designers, arts administrators, curators and more.

Stunning full-colour photography captures moments in time, both sweeping and intimate, woven together to form an important story of culture and ideas across 60 years of history and 35 iconic festivals.

Catherine McKinnon is an award-winning playwright and novelist. She studied theatre performance and cinema at Flinders University. Her play Tilt was selected for the 2010 National Playwriting Festival, and As I Lay Dreaming won the 2010 Mitch Matthews Award. Her short stories, reviews and articles have appeared in Transnational LiteratureText JournalRealTimeNarrative and Griffith Review. McKinnon, along with four other writers, won the Griffith Review Novella 111 Award, 2015, and her novella Will Martin was published by Griffith Review in October of that year. Her novel Storyland was shortlisted for the 2018 Miles Franklin Award, the Barbara Jefferis Award and the Voss Award.